Executive Order Restricting Entry of Certain Foreign Nationals

27. Jan. 2017

It is anticipated that President Trump will sign an Executive Order this week which would impact visa issuance and screening procedures. Specifically, Section 3 of the draft Order, if implemented as written, would suspend the entry of non-immigrant and immigrant nationals from designated countries for 30 days from the date of the order.  Designated countries will include Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.  Additional countries could be added.

Broadly interpreting the language of the order, individuals from designated countries would include passport holders, citizens, nationals, and dual nationals, etc. After 30 days, reinstatement of travel will not be automatic, but dependent upon sufficient evidence that the individual seeking entry is who they say they are, and is not a security or public safety threat, as determined by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

If you are from one of the designated countries, we recommend that you refrain from traveling outside of the United States if you are currently in the U.S., or return as soon as possible if you are abroad (i.e., within the next day or two).

We will continue to monitor the situation and update you with additional information as it becomes available.