President Biden Issues New Proclamation Banning Most Travelers From India to Limit COVID-19 Spread

30. Apr. 2021

Today, President Biden issued a new proclamation suspending the entry into the United States of certain individuals who were physically present in India during the 14-day period preceding their entry or attempted entry.

The new restrictions are on the advice of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and are imposed "in light of extraordinarily high COVID-19 caseloads and multiple variants circulating in India." This new policy will take effect on Tuesday, May 4 at 12:01 am ET.

The ban does not affect U.S. citizens and permanent residents (green card holders), spouses of U.S. citizens or permanent residents, and a few other select category of people.  For more details, read the Proclamation.

The new restriction on travelers from India joins existing restrictions affecting those who have recently been in South Africa, Brazil, the United Kingdom, Ireland and 26 countries in Europe that allow travel across open borders (Schengen countries).